• News
  • Information
  • Program
  • Contact
  • Links

    Bezirk Oberfranken

    Jugendsymphonieorchster Oberfranken

    Haus Marteau auf Reisen

    Musikzauber Franken



    Internationale Musikbegegnungsstätte Haus Marteau
    Lobensteiner Str. 4
    95192 Lichtenberg
    Tel: (0 92 88) 6495


    Ludwigstraße 20
    95444 Bayreuth
    Tel: (09 21) 604-1608
    Fax: (09 21) 604-1606

    Künstlerischer Leiter
    Prof. Christoph Adt
    Schubertstraße 4
    90491 Nürnberg

    Dr. Ulrich Wirz
    Ludwigstraße 20
    95444 Bayreuth

    Prof. Christian Altenburger

    studied at the Music University in his home town of Vienna and under Dorothy DeLay at the Juilliard School in New York. He made his debut as a soloist at the age of 19 in the Viennese Music Society. This was quickly followed by many engagements with leading orchestras (Berlin Philharmonic, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam, Vienna Philharmonic, and the Vienna Symphony Orchestra), playing under famous conductors (Claudio Abbado, Christoph von Dohnányi, Bernard Haitink, James Levine, Lorin Maazel, Zubin Mehta, Václáv Neumann, Sir Roger Norrington, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Franz Welser-Möst). A further key aspect of the artistic talents of Christian Altenburger is chamber music, most notably with colleagues and friends such as Bruno Canino, Patrick Demenga, Heinz Holliger, Nobuko Imai, Kim Kashkashian, Melvyn Tan, Lars Anders Tomter and Lars Vogt. He also enjoys planning distinguished events. He was, together with the actress Julia Stemberger, artistic director of the Mondseetage Festival from 1999 to 2005. He has been the artistic director of the chamber music festival Schwäbischer Frühling (Swabian Spring) since 2003 and of the music festival Loisiarte, for which he also defined the programme concept, since 2006. After many years as professor at the Music School in Hanover, Christian Altenburger was appointed professor at the Music University in Vienna in 2001.




    2008 Bezirk Oberfranken